Scotus Central Catholic

Home » Alumna/Alumnus of the Year

Alumna/Alumnus of the Year

The 16th annual Alumnus & Alumna of the Year Award recognizes distinguished graduates of our school who are strong supporters of Catholic Education, have excelled in their vocation and are involved in their parish and community.

This year’s recipients are Gerry and Kathy Kurtenbach Engelbert. Gerry is named as an honorary alumnus and Kathy is a 1958 St. Bonaventure HS graduate. During their working years and certainly throughout their retirement respectively from NPPD and the United Credit Union, Gerry and Kathy have been prolific volunteers who labor always with a smile and a “can do” spirit. At St. Bonaventure Parish, Gerry is a past parish trustee and parish council member, serves on the cemetery board, is an adult server for funeral masses, an EMHC for masses, rest homes and the hospital and is involved with the Knights of Columbus. Both Gerry and Kathy help count Sunday collections, serve meals on wheels, lector on weekdays and weekends, and are actively involved in nocturnal and perpetual adoration. For Scotus they have simply been indispensable. Gerry has helped at Shamrock home football games on the chain gang for nearly 40 years and at track meets for almost 30 years. Together the Engelberts’ have volunteered for numerous SEF fund drives and Gala dinner auctions and they are loyal helpers with our school’s quarterly alumni newsletter mailings. All of their children attended Scotus including Tim ’80, Dave ’82, Alan ’83, Pat ’87 and Sarah ’01. Indeed, Gerry and Kathy are wonderful examples of what it means to practice stewardship for their parish, community and for Scotus!

Gerry and Kathy (Kurtenbach ’58) Engelbert

Criteria for Selection:
• Support of Catholic Education (volunteer, financial, sending children to, etc)
• Excellence in their vocation as a parent, professional or clergy member
• Civic involvement (leadership and voluntary involvement, club memberships, etc.)
• Parish involvement

Alumnus/na of Year Inductees/ Induction Year/ Graduation Year
Fr. Damien Zuerlein/ 2000 /1973
Carroll Melliger/ 2001/ 1941
Sr. Christine Hayes/ 2002/ 1951
Joe Tooley/ 2003/ 1955
Mike Moser/ 2004/ 1969
Karen Gdowski Mroczek/ 2005/ 1973
Fr. Jeff Loseke/ 2006/ 1992
Gregg Melliger/ 2007/ 1975
Al Niedbalski/ 2008/ 1971
Linda Schrad Levos/ 2009/ 1975
Tony & Phyl (Foltz) Zabawa/ 2010/ 1942 & 1942
Mike & Agne (Placzek) Pickhinke/ 2011/ 1950
Bill and Linda Vobril Kosch/ 2012/ 1968, 1968
Tim and Amy (Maguire) Harrington/ 2013/ 1977, 1978
Jeanne Kopetzky DeRuyscher/ 2014/ 1971
Gerry and Kathy (Kurtenbach) Engelbert/ 2015/ Honorary, 1958

If you would like to nominate a Shamrock graduate for the Alumna/Alumnus of the Year Award, please send your nomination to the: Scotus Development Office, 1554 18 Ave, Columbus NE 68601 or by E-mail at (Alumna is for women and Alumnus is for men)

%d bloggers like this: