Scotus Central Catholic

Home » Shamrock Athletic Hall of Fame

Shamrock Athletic Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame was established in 1999 by the Scotus alumni/nae board to recognize student-athletes who made significant contributions to their sport at Scotus, to recognize coaches and athletic directors for extraordinary leadership of Shamrock Athletics, and to recognize boosters for special support given to Shamrock Athletics. Hall of Fame plaques may be viewed in the hallway outside of the Scotus athletic office. Inductions are announced at the annual spring athletic banquet.
Nominations are accepted and encouraged! Send nominations to the Scotus Alumni Office, 1554 18 Ave, Columbus NE 68601 or send by Email at:

Inducted into the Shamrock Athletic Hall of Fame at the May 2016 athletic banquet was athlete Jamie Tooley Heine ’06 and booster Al Niedbalski ’71.

Jamie Tooley ‘06 Heine.

Jamie member of the Class of 2006 and she was an all-round athlete during her Scotus career. In Volleyball she lettered three years and played on two state championship teams and one state runner-up team. She was a C-1 all-state honorable mention her junior year and in her senior year she was named to the first team all-state and second team all Nebraska (Lincoln Journal Star.) And she was a member of the Nebraska all–sports win streak team which had 115 consecutive wins in volleyball. In basketball Jaime lettered three years, and played on the state championship team her sophomore year. She earned all-state honorable mention her senior year. She was a four year letter winner and four year state qualifier in Track finishing 3rd at state her sophomore year in the 3200 m relay, sixth in the triple jump her junior year and in her senior year she placed first in the triple jump with a current school record 37’-6”, 4th in the long jump and fifth in the 400 m relay. The Lincoln Journal Star named Jamie the girls’ honorable mention 2006 multisport prep athlete of the year and in her senior year she was also named a Scotus lifter of the year, the KLIR Prep Club Athlete of the Year and the Scotus Female Athlete of the Year. Following Scotus, Jamie went on to play volleyball at UNO for three years and she was the starting setter and team captain her junior year. She attended pharmacy school at Regis University in Denver, graduated with honors and is now a pharmacist at Tooley Drug and Home Care here in Columbus. Jamie is married to John Heine and they have a 6 month old daughter, Kaylin.

Al Niedbalski ‘71

Al is a Hall of Fame Booster and for many Shamrock faithful, he is known as the Voice of the Shamrocks! Al is a 1971 graduate of Scotus Central Catholic and along with his studies he lettered in football for three years, basketball for one year and participated in the school’s drama productions each year at Scotus. Al has worked in the insurance industry all but one year since graduating from Kearney State College in 1975 and shortly after returning to Columbus he became involved in many fundraisers for Scotus—including the Gala’s, the former Scotus Shamrock Nights, and many Shamrock Booster Club activities. In 1984 he was one of the founding committee members along with Dave (Tweet) Placek ‘70 and Coach Frank Spenceri of the Shamrock Alumni basketball tourney and he helped to run the tourney for its first seven years. Today, the tourney continues to be a model alumni event that other high schools emulate. He also served two terms on the Scotus board of education from 1995-2000 including one year as board president and during that time he took an active role in the construction of Scotus’ McLaughlin Activity Field. He is a long-term member of the Shamrock Booster Club and has supported his wife, Tanya’s role as the Scotus girls’ golf coach for 21 years. Among his many civic activities in the Columbus community, Al has served as the co-chairman of the Columbus Golf Committee which has been responsible for bringing the NSAA girls golf championships to Columbus the past 7 years. And while serving as the public address announcer at Scotus athletic events, in the last 15 years he has announced more than 325 home volleyball, football and basketball matches and games. Al and Tanya are active members of St. Isidore Parish and celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary in 2015. Their three children are Scotus graduates: Luke (1999), Ross (2003) and Beth (2005.)

Graduation Year/Athlete/Year Inducted
1954 Ken Cielocha 1999
1955 Clinton Gates 1999
1961 Bill Backes 1999
1964 Dave Kudron 1999
1964 Larry Liss 2002
1966 Bill Mimick 2000
1968 Bill Kosch 1999
1969 Joe Blahak 1999
1972 Dan Brock 2000
1974 Brenda Grubaugh Jazwick 1999
1975 Dan Steiner 2001
1979 Mike Cielocha 1999
1981 Glen Kucera 1999
1981 Lana Torczon 2000
1985 Jeff Podraza 2000
1986 Karl Horza 1999
1987 Pat Engelbert 1999
1987 Kelly Nicolas Podraza 1999
1987 Kelli Martin 1999
1988 Mary Fehringer Drake 2002
1991 Kristi Sobota 2001
1993 Jesse Kosch 2007
1994 Jode Cieloha Meekins 2004
1994 Jeff Herdzina 2004
1996 Shauna Greiner Flach 2006
1996 Chad Mustard 2006
1997 Carmen Burbach 2007
1997 Rhea Wemhoff Berglund 2011
1998 Kristie Korth Brezenski 2008
1998 Kim Rickert Dreesen 2011
1999 Jewelia Grennan Wagner 2012
1999 Stephanie Kruse Kros 2012
1999 Tom Rogers 2013
2000 Heather Van Ackeren Diederich 2013
2001 Molly Engel Christensen 2013
2002 Meghan Pile Campbell 2014
2004 Laura Dolezal 2015
2004 Heidi Sobota Field 2015
2006 Jamie Tooley Heine 2016

Year/Coach/AD/Year Inducted
1954 Dean Soulliere 1999
Frank Spenceri 1999
Paul “Dutch” Ernst 1999
Cletus Fischer 2003
Jim Puetz 2004
Dan Mahoney 2007
Vern Younger 2007
Gary Puetz 2012
John Petersen 2014
Grad. Year Boosters Year Inducted
Al Grubaugh 1999
Bon Shadle 1999
Lee Hroza 1999
Leonard Feehan 1999
1960 Glenn Shonka 1999
1945 Albert Tucek 2000
Shirley Hroza 2000
Cece Feehan 2000
1942, 42 Tony & Phyl Zabawa 2000
1952, 54 Dick & Joan Tooley 2001
Helen Shadle 2001
1978 Marc Wolfe 2008
1980 John Kopetzky 2010
1981 Jim Dolezal 2010
1973 Don & Karen Mroczek 2014
Annette Hash 2015
1971 Al Niedbalski 2016

%d bloggers like this: